“Oh babe, I hate to go”

I have flown on a plane and ridden many a train, but I am back in Yanai after a week and a half long stay in Tokyo. I miss my man so much already.

Friday the 4th was our first Kencho meeting of the year. Yes, as an ALT you start your year at the beginning of August. Kind of like the school year back in the states, except your students in Japan have already been in school since April. Shitty, yeah I know.

The first meeting is always fun for the new kids. Well, for some. It is a lot of the same information they have already been given at the Tokyo orientation and most of the poor dears had still been battling jet lag. Many where also in a panic because they are in shock mode, finally realizing they don’t know shit about anything. That they actually are going to be living and working in Japan.

Welcome to your new home.

Then for us old farts, the people who have been here for at least a year already, hate every second of it. Okay maybe it was just me, I was so grumpy, but a lot of the information they relay is only for the new incoming ALTs. The only thing that we really needed was our new contract that we receive in the morning.

Kencho really needs to step it up for these meetings they give us. I never walk away with anything useful…

Still, many an ALT new and old was bubbly and happy to meet new faces. The newbies more excited to make new friends that could possibly save their life at some point during their stay in Japan.

I on the other hand, as I said before, was a grumpy mess. I just wanted to go home and pack because I was to be flying out to Tokyo the very next day. I was headed off to visit bae, I had no time or wish play nice and babysit.

All my bags are packed
I’m ready to go
I’m standin’ here outside your door
I hate to wake you up to say goodbye
But the dawn is breakin’
It’s early morn
The taxi’s waitin’
He’s blowin’ his horn
Already I’m so lonesome
I could die

My time in Tokyo was rather chill. I mostly just hung out at Keisuke’s apartment. I cooked, cleaned, and watched Japanese TV on the days he worked. Other times we went out on a few dates and snuggled close at night. I was just so happy to be close to him.

So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll wait for me
Hold me like you’ll never let me go
‘Cause I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

There’s so many times I’ve let you down
So many times I’ve played around
I tell you now, they don’t mean a thing
Ev’ry place I go, I’ll think of you
Ev’ry song I sing, I’ll sing for you
When I come back, I’ll bring your wedding ring

We got a little irritated here and there with each other, like any normal couple, but we always talked it out. It was mostly me getting irritated and upset. Sorry bae, I am a silly twit who often regrets getting upset. I will do my best to work on it!

So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll wait for me
Hold me like you’ll never let me go
‘Cause I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

Now the time has come to leave you
One more time
Let me kiss you
Then close your eyes
I’ll be on my way
Dream about the days to come
When I won’t have to leave alone
About the times, I won’t have to say

Then the last day came all to soon. I wanted to stay longer, but there is work to be done by the both of us.

I waved good bye with tear filled eyes as I headed to platform 2, where my train awaited me. I tried my best to hold it together, but I just let go. I couldn’t keep it in. The tears rolled silently down my face.

I didn’t and still don’t want to leave.

Oh, kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll wait for me
Hold me like you’ll never let me go
‘Cause I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

But, I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

Thank you always bae, for everything. I love you so much.


Music Quotes from Google Play

Song: Leaving, on a Jet Plane

Artist: John Denver

Leave a Reply

