The Panic is Real

It is the still humid month of September and that means it is typhoon season here in Japan. To many it is a month of worry and rain. To me it just another sweaty and wet month.

The first typhoon of this season was scheduled to hit Yamaguchi area on the 4th. It was to be the worst day of the storm for our rural area, but it never really came. Unless you count the little drizzle and light breeze that “raged” for an hour or too, then sure, it hit us.

Or is it just running a little slow?

Around this time last year I experienced my first ever typhoon. I remember feeling like I had been let down by it. It felt as if it wasn’t a disastrous storm at all, really just a heavy rain mixed with a strong wind. I hardly batted an eye as I walked to school that day through the wind and rain. I don’t mean to say typhoons aren’t dangerous, because they are. They have been known to cause flooding, mudslides, trees to fall, and other various damage. But to me the storm itself isn’t scary.

“The panic is real, but the storm isn’t…”

Growing up in Minnesota I remember terrible storms that rattled me to the core. Skies colored murderous shades of midnight black and bruising green; alive by eruptions of lighting veins, crackling of broken limbs of trees, and screams of thunder. Off in the distance is the haunting song of a siren floating on strong winds.

It almost makes the thought of a typhoon child’s play.

School clubs and events had been canceled throughout my part of Yamaguchi on Sunday. Today, the following day, students are not roaming the school grounds, the halls are deathly still. Students and staff had been notified that lessons and club activities would be canceled.

Where is this storm everyone is so afraid of?

Thankfully I was messaged by the wonder Sumitomo last night about the cancellation. Though regardless of whether or not the storm was to hit I was planning on going into work anyway. I braved the storm last year, what would make this year any different. I guess I am stubborn that way.

Looks like it was just a little rain.

The great part about all of this? Sumitomo said that since lessons would be canceled hardly any teachers would be at school. This morning I walked through a parking lot rather full of cars. Then into the teachers’ office busy with quite a few teachers, I was even earlier than normal. Turns out not everyone got the message about canceled lessons.

Leave a Reply

