You Could say my Life was Shattered

I recently went to Hiroshima for my base schools boys basketball game. While I was there I made sure to do some shopping. I like to visit Hondori street because there are a lot of good shops with my size clothing that I like to hit up every now and again. I just so happened to be in UNIQLO finishing up trying on a pair of pants and was just walking out of the dressing room when it happened. My phone went flying out of my bag and crashed onto the floor. When I picked up the poor thing, my Iphone 6`s screen was shattered.

Now I don`t want to toot my own horn or anything, but I would like to think that I am rather resourceful. I knew that there was no way that I would be able to use my touch screen without slashing up my fingers while sliding it about the screen. I rushed over a few shopped to Daiso, Japans version of a dollar store, and picked up a cheap screen protector to help hold the glass in place and keep the shards from cutting up my hand. It worked, I was safe.

I contacted Sumitomo sensei to see if we could go to Docomo the next day and figure out what I would need to get my screen fixed or my phone replaced. I had requested to add the protection insurance onto my phone service when I first set up my plan. I knew that something could be done.

Now I have had my fair share of Iphones and service providers while living in the states. The last provider had been AT&T. I remember I had really beat up my Iphone 5s a while back, the screen had been shattered. So, I went to the local AT&T store to see what could be done because I had the phone protection plan. I remember being irritated when they said I would have to contact apple myself and order the replacement phone. The new phone would be delivered to the address I would provide and would take several days to a week to arrive. There was nothing they could do in-store for me, besides tell me there was nothing they could do.

Here in Japan it was a total different experience. I was greeted at the door, offered something to drink, for free might I add, and assisted by a employee right away. After quickly getting me signed in and verifying my account I was told that they would order me a new replacement phone and asked if I wanted it delivered to the store or my home. I told them the store would be best. They also asked me if I would want a curtsy call when it arrived, because it would be delivered sometime between noon and 2:00 p.m. the next day. Yes, that is right THE NEXT DAY.

Since it would be delivered on a school day I would not be able to arrive until after school. The staff assured me that that wouldn`t be an issue, that any time between 2:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. would be fine. Sumitomo would also be able to assist me after school as well. But who knew that we would be there for over an hour on our next days visit.

My phone holds the key to my life. I use it to take pictures, video, contact friends/family, and take notes. I use google maps app almost daily for train times and for any kind of travel. Heck it is my alarm clock and daily planner. It really is my life in a small-tinny-handheld-rectangular machine. There is a lot held within my small little device. In pictures alone there was over 5,000.

So what kept us so late? Setting up my phone was easy. I myself have done it several times and have become a bit of a wiz. The staff was a little funny because I heard several times that they couldn`t figure out where something was located because I have my phone set up in English. I did most of the set up myself anyway, for that I think they had been grateful. What took time was getting my icloud to sync with the new phone. It took over an hour just to do that.

I was sorry towards the staff because it was well over closing time and we still had been waiting for my phone to finish. I told Sumitomo that it was okay if it wasn`t complete. That I could do it myself later, but everyone insisted that it was okay. That this was there job and things like this happen. Not a one of them had a sour look on their face or got huffy when they had to wait a little bit longer than usual to get out of work. Just another reason why Japan has such great customer service. The employees and customers are not jerks towards one another.

As of today I have a shiny new Iphone. I also got a better protection screen to hopefully help prevent me from smashing up another screen. I also beefed up my data plan. I often run out before the end of the month, so hopefully this will be better!

Thank you Docomo for having good customer service and being a good cell phone provider. You make living my life here just a little bit easier.

Leave a Reply

