It might be nothing to you, but to me…

Well, it is already Thursday. That means there is only three days left until the Ube marathon. To be exact it is 3 days 1 hours and 48 minutes (from this moment in time). Yes I am counting down. It isn’t very far away. The pressure is starting to weigh heavily on my shoulders.

count down

I know in my hear that everything will turn out fine. Growing up running was never my thing. That is until recent years I would dread running the mile in school. Today running has helped me loose over 23 pounds (about 10.4 kilograms) over a period of three or so years. It has also helped me sweat out pent up anger and frustration. Running has been a way to challenge myself, to better myself.

Now don’t get me wrong, I do not LOVE running. Many days I still feel like the act of running is a chore, but I just bight the bullet and do. It has become a whole lot easier to do than it had been in the past. I no longer feel like the fat kid running over the finish line last during P.E. class. For that I am thankful, but I still know the pain of being that kid. It has been a great motivator for me when working out.

 

main
Enter a caption

 

This marathon will be my first run in Japan. I am only running a 5k but I have not run one since I ran my very first 5k two years ago. I am rusty and I have not been training all that well for this event. In all honesty I am wishing for one more week, but no matter how much time would be left it would never be enough. I will do my best with what little time I have left. I need to keep extra hydrated, something I have been poor at doing recently, and eat more protein packed foods.

One thing that isn’t a major factor but important is a good running playlist. I need to be able to zone out my breathing in order to run well. I am not sure if it is true but one thing that throws me off is listening to my own breathing. I can’t keep steady and even rhythm. I often start have too short of breaths causing my running ability to falter. Crazy theory right? Or it’s just the fact that I don’t want to listen to every rasping, struggle I have when trying to breath.

Ube 5k map

Regardless, the biggest struggle and possibly scariest part of this race will be check-in. I am running a race here in Japan, meaning no English anything. It will be a lot of broken Japanese and odd gestures. What will save you? Having every form of ID possible and all the races paperwork. Or just do what I always do. Wing it! I’m still really good at it, must be one of my many talents.

The other struggle will be getting there. Two other ALT buddies and myself are also trying to figure out what will be the best way to get us all to the race. Trains and buses are becoming an issue due to poor arrival times to Ube station. We all are currently working on fixing this little problem.

In the end please wish me the best of luck! It is going to be a challange, but I know I can do it! “I can do this. I can do this, I can do this!!!” Or some chant similar to that will be on repeat in my brain throughout the length of my run. I CAN DO IT! FIGHTING!!!

Leave a Reply

