In this town, don’t we love it now? Everybody’s waiting for the next surprise!

Over Halloween break I decided to visit friends in Fukuoka. It might not have been a “normal” Halloween but it was well worth the long trip. Though I may have spent a little more than I should on clothes, I stayed within my budget, and seeing good friends made it priceless.
I don`t want to go into detail about every little thing I did, since I posted pictures as the trip progressed, but we ate well and did a lot of walking; well over 35,000 steps a day.
Some highlights from the trip would have to be coffee talks, learning new words (English and Japanese), eating really good food and our random game of who can spot the next bloody Halloween costume (when I say bloody, I mean bloody). Halloween seems to be more popular in big cities around Japan. People allow themselves the freedom to wear costumes and roam around the city.
No it is like the trick or treating I am used to, though some mall shops handed out candy and treats to children in the earlier part of the day. It was more like Halloween cos-play day. This year it just happened that everything needed to be bloody and dead. I must have missed that memo.
Anyway, it was fun to see people enjoying the Halloween that I know. Maybe as time goes on it will catch on more and more. Costumes will become more wide spread and more parties will take place. I guess we will just have to see what happens.
The trip was over all was a hit. I am so happy to be able to see my wonderful friends and recap on things that have happened. I can’t thank them enough for taking the time to meet with me this weekend. I know I most defiantly need to go back.

Leave a Reply

