Damn, I make good lemonade.

Living in Japan has it pros and its cons. One huge plus is that I am making a rather nice amount of money a month for my current job, but I have to wire money home to pay bills. But money is not the best reason; I mean it totally is the fact that I am living in Japan. I mean think about it, I am living, breathing, in Japan! No one else in my family can say that.
Like living anywhere there will be good things and not so good things about the city your living, your apartment, or even the people in your area. Right now I am excited that I am living here, but there are struggles.
Language is a big player in my every day struggles. Then the isolation that comes with being a foreigner in another country can also be a struggle, but that also relates heavily with language. Can`t really totally fit in when your limited in what you can say, but I do the best I can. Also, you stick out like a sore thumb no matter where you are or what you are doing.
What am I trying to get at here? Well, you see it might be a little sad and lonely every once in a while and there are things that I still don`t understand but that hasn`t stopped me from enjoying life. I have friends close by that I can visit, Japanese and other ALT`s. I have been adopted by my JTE`s family and it has been a wonderful, loud (three young boys as nephews), experience. There is always a way to have an adventure, even if it is just going for a walk around my city or hopping on a train to explore a new town a few stops over.
I realized that I haven`t been super active on Facebook like I used to because lately people have been asking if I am really enjoying my time here or putting on a brave face. There is no need to worry. When I get a little lonely I just message my sister, call a friend, or meet up with my best ALT buddies for dinner.
When life gives you lemons make lemonade, or just bit down on that sour fruit and give it hell. There is no need to worry, it`s all good. Well, unless I see a cut ass couple on a train being all lovely dovey . Then I have issues.

Leave a Reply

